File hosting service Dropbox has introduced a feature to allow large files to be sent over for downloads, in a move away from its usual strategy of collaborative sharing.
Dropbox Transfer lets users send files on their computer or Dropbox account to others via a link that will prompt the download, and can be sent even to others without a Dropbox account.
On its blog, Dropbox says transfers can be password protected and have an expiration date of seven days, to avoid having these files be available in perpetuity.
Transfer initiators can also see the number of times a transfer was viewed or downloaded.
The size of the transferable files depends on the user’s plan. Basic (free plans) can send up to 100MB, Plus plans and Business Standard 2GB, Professional plans and Business Advanced, Enterprise, or Education plans can send up to 100GB of files.
Unlike a Dropbox folder, where multiple users can collaboratively access a file and update it, the transferred file can only be downloaded.
Corporations that want to add a little branding will be able to customise the design with a background and logo that will appear when recipients view their transfers. -The Star