Anwar remains unopposed as PKR president

Estimate Reading Time: 2 minutes

PETALING JAYA: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is the PKR president from 2022 to 2024 as he was able to retain the post unopposed in the party polls.


PKR secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said that Anwar remained as the sole candidate for the post of party president.

He added that this is a repeat of 2018, when Anwar also retained the post unchallenged.

“This is the greatest and biggest honour from the grassroots of PKR,” he said in a Facebook post on Tuesday (April 12).

The 75-year-old Anwar also won the PKR presidency unopposed in the party’s polls for the 2018-2021 term in November 2018.

Voting for the party polls will be done in a hybrid form this time, through both in-person voting and via the party’s Adil app which was introduced on Feb 28.

Meanwhile, it will be a crowded affair for the PKR vice-presidency 18 candidates have announced their interest to date, with PKR information chief Datuk Seri Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin submitting his name on Monday (April 11) night.


Among the top contenders are Selangor Mentri Besar and state PKR chairman Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari and Negri Sembilan Mentri Besar and state party chairman Aminuddin Harun.

Other candidates include incumbent Chang Lih Kang, PKR communications director and Lembah Pantai MP Fahmi Fadzil, Wanita PKR chief and Kuantan MP Fuziah Salleh, PKR chief organising secretary and Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad and former Perak PKR chief Farhash Wafa Salvador Rizal Mubarak.

Also in the contest are former Perak PKR deputy chairman M.A. Tinagaran, Kapar MP Datuk Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid, Alor Setar MP Chan Ming Kai, former Kapar MP G. Manivannan and Sentosa assemblyman Dr G. Gunaraj.

Five other candidates who also have submitted their nomination forms are Terengganu PKR chairman Azan Ismail, former vice-president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub, former vice-head of PKR Youth S. Thiban, Chuah assemblyman Michael Yek and Bukit Selambau assemblyman R. Summugam.

Among the other three incumbent vice-presidents, Chua Tian Chang – better known as Tian Chua – announced on March 27 that he would not be defending his post.

Additionally, Rafizi Ramli has offered himself to contest the deputy president’s post against Saifuddin.-The Star