MCA gets new leadership line-up, Dr Wee retains presidency

Estimate Reading Time: 2 minutes

KUALA LUMPUR: The 2023 MCA party election culminated with a new leadership line-up for the party’s central committee on Sunday (Sept 24) night.


Party secretary-general Datuk Chong Sin Woon announced that Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong has successfully defended his post as MCA president.

Dr Wee clinched 569 electoral votes, beating his opponent Datuk Tan Chong Seng who received 11 votes.

Deputy president Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon returned unopposed.

There is a mix of old and new faces for the four vice-president posts, which were won by incumbents Datuk Lim Ban Hong and Datuk Tan Teik Cheng, who secured 459 votes and 453 votes respectively.

They are joined by newcomers Datuk Seri Dr Wee Jeck Seng with 477 votes and Datuk Lawrence Low Ah Keong with 459 votes.

Also elected were 25 central committee members.

Chong said voter turnout among delegates was 60.12%.

After announcing the official results at 11.45pm on Sunday, he said that the name of the last elected central committee member would only be revealed on Monday (Sept 25), as election staff members were still finalising the results.

“The votes between two candidates were very close, and work is underway to determine who is the winner,” he said.

While congratulating the winners, he also called on all winners and candidates to close ranks and reunite to revamp the party as a team.

Nominations for the 2023 MCA elections took place on Sept 11, with the party central committee polls involving some 29,000 MCA delegates.

Elections for the Wanita and Youth wings concluded on Saturday (Sept 23) with incumbent Wong You Fong and Yong Peng assemblyman Ling Tian Soon winning the chairman posts respectively.

This is the second party election conducted under the new enlarged delegate mechanism, or electoral voting system, after it was introduced and passed in an extraordinary general meeting (EGM) in 2016.

In the past, the central committee was elected by about 2,400 central delegates during the party election, which is held every three years during its annual general meeting (AGM).

With the enlarged delegate mechanism, the party expanded the election of MCA’s echelon to the divisional delegates, which now number more than 52,000 members nationwide.

All winners will begin their terms as office-bearers after the party’s AGM on Oct 21 and 22.

Below is the new leadership line-up for MCA:

President: Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong

Deputy president: Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon


Datuk Seri Dr Wee Jeck Seng

Datuk Lim Ban Hong

Datuk Lawrence Low Ah Keong

Datuk Tan Teik Cheng

Central committee members:


Datuk Koh Nai Kwong

Datuk Kang Meng Fuat

Chua Hock Kuan

Leaw Kok Chan

Monna Ong Siew Siew

Datuk Chris Lee Ching Yong

Tan Chong

Tan Kok Eng

Datuk Ooi Jing Ting

Datuk Leong Kok Wee

Chan Quin Er

Choong Shin Heng

Datuk Quek Tai Seong

Lee Ban Seng

Datuk Koh Chin Han

Lee Ting Han

Lee Wan Tung@Lu Yen Tung

Cally Ting Zhao Song

Tan Gim Tuan

Chiew Kai Heng

Saw Yee Fung

Datuk Dr Chin Tung Leong

Chua Thiong Gee

Woon Yong Teai
(To be announced)

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/capitalp/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5373