Anwar: No conditions on allocation for supporting PM

Estimate Reading Time: 2 minutes

KUALA LUMPUR: Expressing support for the Prime Minister is not a condition for equal government allocation for MPs, says Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.


“I want to explain so that the rakyat will understand.

“I do not restrict allocation for any elected representative.

“What I want is for the rules to be respected and to hold discussions for the allocation as what was done during the previous administration.

“There is no pre-condition or condition that support must be given for the Prime Minister,” the Prime Minister said when replying to a question raised by Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (PN-Bukit Gantang) in Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday (Nov 28).

Anwar said he was dismayed that the issue was manipulated by the Opposition to criticise his leadership, particularly during recent by-elections.

“I was told by Deputy Prime Minister II (Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof) that talks were held with two Opposition representatives but no official meeting has been held on the matter,” he said.

He chided Opposition chief Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin and Opposition Chief Whip Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan for not holding discussions with Fadillah despite the need to do so.

He said both leaders were previously involved in discussions during the former Perikatan Nasional administration when equal allocation was provided to all MPs.


Anwar said that he remained committed to providing equal allocation for all MPs as promised in Pakatan Harapan’s election manifesto.

During debates, Takiyuddin claimed the Prime Minister was using allocation as a means to gain support from certain MPs.

Takiyuddin insisted that the constituency development fund (CDF) should be given to MPs irrespective of their political affiliation.

“The CDF is provided for constituency development and is not only meant for areas that support the government,” he said.

Earlier, Syed Abu Hussin drew gasps in the House when he openly praised Anwar for his leadership while expressing support for the Prime Minister.

Previously, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Dr Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan), Zahari Kechik (Jeli) and Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang) declared support for Anwar, saying that they did so to gain extra allocations for their respective constituencies.

– TheStar

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/capitalp/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5373